BOOK REVIEW:”Whisper to me” by Nick Lake

RATINGS :-
Plot : 3/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4/5

Genre : Young Adult,  Fiction
Age Recommended : 13 yrs and up

IMG_20160724_201055

“I hear you above the noise”

“These are the things that you need to know:

1. I hear voices.

2. I miss you.

3. I wish I could take back what I did to you.

4. What they said in the news, what they said I did. It’s not true. You don’t have to worry about that.

After reading this and giving a glance to the charming cover, what I thought was this book yet another light YA novel about a girl who falls in love and ends up making mistakes. Therefore, she’s writing a letter to apologize. 

But, I was wrong. “Whisper to me” is not an ordinary novel which is read once and then forgotten. It deals with some topics which are so much deeper than a light-hearted YA romance.  

I received this remarkable novel from Bloomsbury India.

A word of caution that this book is not for those readers who:

Aren’t patient

Looking for a fun summer read

Do not consider reading serious novels

Because Whisper to me deals with some issues which involve a lot of thinking and understanding. The story is told in a way which kept me gripped until I found all the answers and finished reading it.

The story revolves around Cassie who is dealing with trauma induced schizophrenia and is writing a letter to the boy whose heart she broke. She’s trying to explain why. Why she pushed him away. Why her father got so angry when he saw them together. Why she disappears some nights. Why she won’t let herself remember what happened that long-ago night on the boardwalk. Why she fell apart so completely.Desperate for his forgiveness, she’s telling the whole story of the summer she nearly lost herself. She’s hoping he’ll understand as well as she now does how love—love for your family, love for that person who makes your heart beat faster, and love for yourself—can save you after all.

Author’s writing style is truly praiseworthy. Usually I avoid reading books which involves regretful decisions, grief, falling apart and gloomy situations. But reading Whisper to me was truly diverse. Especially the thought process of Cassie will make you fall in love with the book. For instance:

“I was shining. Light was blazing from my every pore. My eyes were closed, and the strip lights were turning the inside of my eyelids red, everything red. That’s your color, you know, the one I see and feel when I think of you. Emotions are always associated with colors, aren’t they? Green with envy. Well, when you are in my head you are always there with red: sunlight, warmth, heat.

People are green with envy.

Yellow with cowardice.

I am red with you.”

And

“But now I want to be a real girl, not just a voice, I want my body back, and I want you to be the one to hold it; I want to hear my name on your lips. I want you to be the one to whisper to me.”

Whisper to will make you feel as if you are sitting on an isolated beach surrounded by quite movement of the sea which refreshes you every time!

After reading this astonishing book what I say is,

“However loud life gets,

You can always hear love…”

– Reviewed by Tanishka Luhia

Leave a Reply

