Book Review: “ A Court Of Mist And Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) ” by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Young Adult,  Fiction, Action and Adventure, Fantasy,Romance
Age Recommended : 14 yrs and up

  “To the stars who listen—and the dreams that are answered.”

*Goodreads Synopsis*

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

PS: Before I begin the review there are some things which you all must know. Firstly, the first half of the review will be spoiler free i.e, it is for those who still haven’t read this book  (which I really doubt that because who can leave such a lovely book unread afterall?!). Whilst the other half will be full of spoilers where I will be giving my opinion of the story (mainly the plot twist), characters (new as well as old) and the writing style of one and only Sarah J. Maas. I will be sharing my views and feelings that I felt for this incredible novel! And readers, please feel free to tell me by commenting  about what you guys thought of the book and whether  you agree with my views or not.

Spoiler Free!u

Being a 600 page book (yup you read it right, it is 600) I expected the book to be really boring. Well, I was wrong however, as the book was not even an inch close to what we call boring. The great thing about A court of Mist and Fury was that despite being the second book of the series it was as interesting as the first book. By this I mean that  the second book of any series usually  doesn’t make you as excited as the first book but Sarah J. Maas, being an exception, wrote A court of Mist and Fury in such a way that it I couldn’t put it down until I freaking finished it!

Now let’s move to Feyre. In this book I found Feyre on the verge of becoming a total badass , which makes me pretty sure of enountering  Feyre as one of the most powerful heroine in the next book! In the first book, Feyre  lived under the mountain to save Tamlin for a long time but now in the second book where  she should have been free and happy  she, surprisingly, is not even allowed to go anywhere without Tamlin’s permission. She starts feeling like a prisoner. But then she decides to do something which I really never expected because after reading it I was like “Whoa!! wait I need to read that again!!”.

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed”

But, ahuh, *chuckles* I am not going to tell you that because I want you to find out yourself and if I tell you there will be no fun! There are some new characters introduced in the book due to which the story becomes more interesting. I also found many changes in Lucien’s,Rhysand’s and Tamlin’s characters. Which , to be honest were shocking!

Now let’s move to the discussion which is full of spoilers! Please do not read it if you haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury. It’s for your own good because if you read this now you will never be able to praise Sarah J. Maas’s writing style.

Full of Spoilers!!

The Plot Twist:

Well after I encountered the plot twist I was stunned! Although there many twists in the plot, the most shocking were when Feyre decides to leave with Rhysand and when Rhys says that Feyre is his mate I mean M-A-T-E!! I was literally shaken! And of course when the mating bond was almost broken!! For a second I really couldn’t move. I was so dazed.

Me when I read it:

9118937

The Characters:

In the starting I thought that the shift in Tamlin’s character is a bit hasty but then I realized that Tamlin was the same from the starting maybe we were just a bit charm-struck (especially me I think!). There were so many parts in the story when I felt like shaking Tamlin so that he realize that what he was trying to do especially to Feyre. I think that he was blinded by love so much that he didn’t know what he was doing. But Tamlin let me tell you that if you love someone then that doesn’t mean you can force you decisions on them!

Well now where should I start with Rhysand’s character?! It’s like from the starting I kinda knew that Rhys is like a proper gentleman. This even proves when he tells Feyre the reason behind hiding the the fact that Feyre is his mate. Rhys brings out the courage in Feyre. Due to him Feyre realizes her powers. Due to him Feyre gets to know about the truth behind Tamlin’s and Rhysand’s  true past (not the one Tamlin let her believe).

“Truth is deadly. Truth is freedom. Truth can break and mend and bind.”

Due to him…Ugh!! Well I can continue this forever. But really due to him the story becomes more appealing.

There are some new characters in the story which to my surprise made the story out of the ordinary. For instance Mor was such a sweet character reading about her was really enjoyable. Moreover, Cassian and Azriel were also really remarkable characters.

Writing Style:

18825854

Yes this it is what Sarah J. Maas’s writing style is like. It is out of this world! It is so good that even if the next book is more than 600 pages I am truly comfortable to read it.

I really cannot wait more to read the next book! Because I am so excited to read that how Rhys and Feyre together going to defeat Tamlin and I seriously cannot wait to read Tamlin’s reaction when he gets to know that Feyre doesn’t love him.

And readers please let me know your thoughts of A Court of Mist and Fury in the comments section below because I really want to discuss this book with you guys!

-Tanishka Luhia

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “ A Court Of Mist And Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) ” by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

