Book Review:Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

11235712.jpg

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Young Adult, Science Fiction, Action and Adventure,Romance
Age Recommended : 13 yrs and up

“Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.”

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

This time again I decided to divide the review on two parts which are the parts where I’ll mention all the spoilers and the part which will be strictly spoiler free.

SPOILER FREE:

Before reading the book I had some doubts related to the story. To be honest these doubts were just because the main lead Cinder is a cyborg i.e,a fictional or hypothetical person whose physical abilities are extended beyond normal human limitations by mechanical elements built into the body. To sum it up who is ahead of the current time and might be different from ‘normal’ people. So, the main reason I started this book was because of the beautiful cover (too judgemental right?) .

BUT, I was soooo FREAKING wrong!!! Marissa Meyer’s character Cinder was more than just a cyborg. She was much better than the so called ‘normal’ people.

cinder

As mentioned in the synopsis Cinder is a gifted mechanic who is a second-class citizen in New Beijing, the capital of the Eastern Commonwealth, a country ravaged by plague outbreaks. The world mentioned in the book is much more advanced. For instance people know about the life on Luna (Moon) and have super robots for various works whom they call androids. Even being so advanced they still have a monarch to look after them. That is when the ‘hero’  of the story- Prince Kai comes into the picture. Prince Kaito or Kai is the perfect definition of what we call a Prince.

“He was the fantasy of every girl in the country. He was so far out of realm, her world, that she should have stopped thinking about him the second the door had closed. Should stop thinking about him immediately. Should never think about him again, except maybe as a client–and her prince.
And yet, the memory of his fingers against her skin refused to fade.”

As their country is often struck with plague everyone is extra careful every time. So, once when the plague took place in a very unexpected place Cinder is blamed as her step-sister is affected by it. Too bad right? I really wish I could tell you what happens next or more about Kai and Cinder but I really can’t. I want you to read it and find it on your own (because that’s the art of reading right?).

Now let’s move to the discussion which is full of spoilers! Please do not read it if you haven’t read Cinder. It’s for your own good because if you read this now you will never be able to praise Marissa Meyer’s writing style and most importantly you won’t be able to enjoy the book.

FULL OF SPOILERS:

The Characters:

When I started reading the book I loved Cinder’s android Iko. I mean who knew that even super robots can have a crush and crack jokes?

“Oh, my stars! Think about Prince Kai! You could dance with Prince Kai!”
This made Cinder pause and squint into Iko’s blinding light. “Why would the prince dance with me?”
Iko’s fan hummed as she sought an answer. “Because you won’t have grease on your face this time.”

I even like Cinder’s step-sister Peony who is really nice to her. Dr. Erland also plays a very important role in the book as he helps Cinder a lot.

Cinder is different than any other characters I’ve read so far. Before reading the book I thought she’ll be like those kind of heroines which are usually shown in most of the cliché stories. But actully she wasn’t like that at all.Kai on the other hand is not your weirdly typical prince. (No wonder both of them are attracted to each other!).

“Clearing his throat, Kai murmured, “You have no idea how to dance, do you?”
Cinder fixed her gaze on him, mind still reeling. “I’m a mechanic.”
His eyebrows raised mockingly. “Believe me, I noticed. Are those grease stains on the gloves I gave you?”

Levana is like a perfect example of ice queen. She is just so cruel. What does she think she is huh? She uses her so called glamour to control others and then she thinks that she can be the kind queen which New Beijing needs. Just because of her everyone has a mindset that all the Lunars are bad.

Even Adri- Cinder’s step mother is no better than Levana. She blames Cinder for Peony’s state without even knowing the truth. Sometimes I felt like laughing at the stupidity of Adri.

200b.gif

The Plot (Twists and Changes):

I think out of all the books I’ve so far this is the only book which has a LOT of plot changes and twists. The book starts with the typical Cinderella theme which made me think ‘okay this book will be a one time read’. But as the story continues I just went like:

19428845.gif

Especially as the story start revolving around Luna, Levana and her evil missions the book becomes more interesting. When I read the part where Cinder is from Luna that is she is Lunar and can use glamour.AND she is Princess Selene!!!

I was like:

17 - 1.gif

When Cinder decides to go to the ball I was so thrilled!! I was literally cheering for Cinder!!

k.gif

CINDER!! YAY!!! CINDER!!! CINDER!!!

Writing Style:

Marissa Meyer’s writing style is just beyond anyone’s imagination!! The way she writes surprised me to and extent which I never expected.

My feelings when I read Marissa Meyer’s book (I am soooo happy that an author like her also exists):

g.gif

I highly recommend this book to every reader but especially to those who wants to read to bring back the memories of the childhood fairy tales they read but in much more advanced form.

-Tanishka Luhia

6 thoughts on “Book Review:Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

