All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

ARC Review: Fish Heads and Duck Skin by Lindsey Salatka

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

 

Genre : Fiction, Memoir, Literary Fiction

Date of Release: July 20th, 2021

 

“Even this—questioning your life and your choices—this is incredibly brave.”

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

 

On the advice of a five-dollar psychic, Tina Martin, a zany, overworked mother of two, quits her high-powered job and moves her family to Shanghai. Tina yearns for this new setting to bring her the zen-like inner peace she’s always heard about on infomercials. Instead, she becomes a totally exasperated fish out of water, doing wacky things like stealing the shoes of a shifty delivery man, spraying local women with a bidet hose, and contemplating the murder of her new pet cricket.

It takes the friendship of an elderly tai chi instructor, a hot Mandarin tutor, and several mah-jongg-tile-slinging expats to bring Tina closer to a culture she doesn’t understand, the dream job she never knew existed, and the self she has always sought. Fish Heads and Duck Skin will resonate with anyone who has ever wondered who they are, why they were put here, and how they ever lived before eating pan-fried pork buns.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Fish Heads and Duck Skin by Lindsey Salatka”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

ARC Review: Fade Into the Bright by Jessica Koosed Etting and Alyssa Schwartz

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

Genre : Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Date of Release: April 27th, 2021

“Everyone has a story. Deep down most people just want someone to listen to them talk about it.”

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

 

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Five Feet Apart meets Tell Me Three Things in this YA contemporary novel about two sisters, one summer, and a diagnosis that changes everything.

Abby needs to escape a life that she no longer recognizes as her own. Her old life–the one where she was a high school volleyball star with a textbook-perfect future–has been ripped away. Abby and her sister, Brooke, have received a letter from their estranged dad informing them he has Huntington’s disease, a fatal, degenerative disorder that you wouldn’t wish on your worst enemy. And when the sisters agree to genetic testing, one of them tests positive.

Fleeing to Catalina Island for the summer, Abby is relieved to be in a place where no one knows her tragic history. But when she meets aspiring documentary filmmaker Ben–tall, outdoorsy, easygoing, with eyes that don’t miss a thing–she’s thrown off her game. Ben’s the kind of guy who loves to figure out people’s stories. What if he learns hers?

Continue reading “ARC Review: Fade Into the Bright by Jessica Koosed Etting and Alyssa Schwartz”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

ARC REVIEW : Darkness Awakening (Awakened#2) by Lisa M. Green by

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

“Trust no one. She already knew that.”

Genre : Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult, Adult, Fairy Tale, Adventure

Date of Release: November 19, 2020

 
 
A SAVIOR HAS AWAKENED. BUT SHE MIGHT JUST DOOM THEM ALL.

After Aurianna foils a deadly plot to destroy the capital city, the people believe she has fulfilled the prophecy and prevented the civil war.

However, when Aurianna returns home to the future, she realizes her attempts to thwart the catastrophe failed. Nothing has changed. Yet despite everything, the Arcanes still insist the prophecy is woven into her destiny.

Now Aurianna must work to determine how and where the real event will occur, all while still trying to control her elemental abilities. The fate of time itself is at stake if she can’t learn to control her powers.

The timeline will be forever stuck in an endless loop.

Uncovering the shocking secrets of her own past threatens to shatter Aurianna’s already fragile balance between power and self-restraint. These secrets have the potential to rip apart her connection with the people she now holds dear.

A tragic set of events leads to a battle of wills and a horrifying revelation that threatens to destroy her heart . . . and her home.

She might be the savior. But time is literally counting on her.

 

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW : Darkness Awakening (Awakened#2) by Lisa M. Green by”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

ARC REVIEW: The Hungry Cow by Sandeep Kumar Rana

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1

Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Fiction, Young Adult, Literary Fiction

Age Recommended: 13 yrs and up

Eleven-year-old Raju wants to be a veterinary doctor, because in every cow he sees his Gaura maan, the cow his father Gopala has reared. When he sees any cow limping/bleeding, he feels that it is Gaura maan who is hurt, so he aspires to treat them all. Alas, the good work has to begin early and at home.

When Gaura maan begins to yield less milk, Gopala maltreats her – no feed, no vaccines. Gaura maan’s condition worsens when she feeds herself from stinking garbage bins. Raju discusses her plight with his friend Qasim and decides to transport her to a cowshed. But that’s easier said than done.

Gopala doesn’t allow this transport, Qasim can’t help him being Qasim, Gaura man refuses to leave him and he himself gets cold feet realising that separation from his Gaura maan is imminent!

The story is underpinned by Sandeep Kumar Rana’s preoccupation with the themes of empathy for all and interfaith.

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW: The Hungry Cow by Sandeep Kumar Rana”

Blog Tours · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

A Brand New Phenomena Exploring the issues of race, class, and violence | Blog Tour: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (8)

THEBLACKKIDS_BlogTourHeader

Today, I am delighted to host the Blog Tour organised by Simon & Schuster for The Black Kids.

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Continue reading “A Brand New Phenomena Exploring the issues of race, class, and violence | Blog Tour: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed”

Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

ARC REVIEW : Not Like the Movies (Waiting for Tom Hanks #2) by Kerry Winfrey

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Romance, Comedy, Contemporary

Date of Release: July 7, 2020

“Maybe you need to accept that your life is a rom-com, whether you want it to be or not.”

What happens when your life is a rom-com…but you don’t even believe in true love?

Chloe Sanderson is an optimist, and not because her life is easy. As the sole caregiver for her father, who has early onset Alzheimer’s, she’s pretty much responsible for everything. She has no time—or interest—in getting swept up in some dazzling romance. Not like her best friend Annie, who literally wrote a rom-com that’s about to premiere in theaters across America…and happens to be inspired by Chloe and Nick Velez, Chloe’s cute but no-nonsense boss.

As the buzz for the movie grows, Chloe reads one too many listicles about why Nick is the perfect man, and now she can’t see him as anything but Reason #2: The Scruffy-Bearded Hunk Who’s Always There When You Need Him. But unlike the romance Annie has written for them, Chloe isn’t so sure her own story will end in a Happily Ever After. 

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW : Not Like the Movies (Waiting for Tom Hanks #2) by Kerry Winfrey”

Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall : ARC REVIEW

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Romance, LGBT, Contemporary

Date of Release: July 7, 2020

Continue reading “Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall : ARC REVIEW”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Just Saying by Sophie Ranald : ARC REVIEW

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

RATINGS :-
Plot : 3.5/5
Characters : 3/5
Writing : 4/5
OVERALL RATING : 3.5/5

Genre : Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Comedy

Date of Release: July 3rd 2020 by Bookouture

“I’d got myself into a relationship that felt like it was going to be forever, and suddenly forever seemed like the longest, longest time.”

I almost gave up on love. My ex, who called his private parts ‘Nigel’, was enough to put me off men forever. But then I met Joe.

Alice thought she’d found Mr Right. Her blue-eyed boyfriend Joe gives her butterflies, makes her bacon sandwiches when she’s hungover, and doesn’t have a nickname for any of his body parts.

She should have known it was too good to be true. Because one day, Alice and Joe bump into Zoe. According to him, Zoe’s ‘just an old friend’. But Alice saw the way they froze, and heard the strange note in Joe’s voice when he said her name.

Then, out of the blue, Zoe needs a place to live. And Joe has the bright idea of inviting her, and her fluffy ginger cat Frazzle, to stay with them.

Alice tries her hardest not to feel threatened. But the thing is, Zoe doesn’t survive off microwave meals, or go days without washing her glossy copper-coloured hair, or accidentally get mascara in her contact lenses.

Joe’s ex might be pretty much perfect, but there’s no way that Alice will let Zoe steal him. She’s on a mission to prove that three (four, if you count the cat) is definitely a crowd…

Continue reading “Just Saying by Sophie Ranald : ARC REVIEW”