All Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Book Review : Love and Other Sins

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner

 

Genre : Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

 

Mina’s life is going according to plan; she’s acing AP Calc and is perfectly content with her nonexistent social life. Though only a high school junior, Mina knows time is an investment, and she’s putting all her capital into academics. Oliver, a child abuse survivor who grew up in the foster care system, is ready to burn down his old life and start from scratch—complete with a new name and emancipation papers—in L.A. When the two are thrown together through circumstance and develop an unexpected connection, they discover how hard it is to keep the past in the past.

Continue reading “Book Review : Love and Other Sins”

Other Posts · Uncategorized · Wrap Ups!

Monthly Wrap Up : September

Hey everyone! So, I am back with a wrap up segment in this post for the month of September! It has been a very long time since I did one of these however, the month of September was one of the best reading months this year. Hence, I am happily sharing what all books I devoured the last month! So, without further ado let’s get started!

Continue reading “Monthly Wrap Up : September”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Book Review + Giveaway : Bridge Across the Ocean by Jack B. Rochester

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner

B09F5KJGYH.01._SCLZZZZZZZ_SX500_

Genre : Fiction, Suspense, Sports, Romance

Date of Release: September 14th, 2021

Rating: 4 out of 5.

AN ACTION-PACKED, ADVENTUROUS MYSTERY WITH IP ESPIONAGE, TECHNOLOGICAL INNOVATION, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, LOVE

Jedediah Smith, Luke Lin, David Bondsman and Rick Saundersson have created the most innovative bicycle drive in history: The Spinner, a technologically advanced device that produces and stores its own energy without using batteries. It’s 2011, and it’s ideally positioned for the just-emerging city bike market, and the world’s largest bicycle maker located in Taiwan is interested.

Just before they are to leave for Taipei to discuss a licensing agreement with Joyful Bike, While cycling, Luke is struck and killed by a hit-and-run driver. Although heartbroken, the three friends decide to continue with their business travels, taking Luke’s fiancee Suzie Sun with them.

At Tokyo’s Narita International Airport, the group encounters two Japanese agents of business espionage who don’t know what they have, but nevertheless want to steal it. The “information worms” pursue the cyclists to Taipei, where the stakes grow even higher and a battle of espionage ensues.

The guys begin negotiations with Joyful’s director of business development, Jung-Shan Lai. She takes them cycling on Joyful bikes through Taiwan’s breathtaking scenery as they continue to thwart the attacks of the information worms. Jed promptly falls in love with Jung-Shan, and she with him.

Will the team be able to secure and finalize their business deal with Joyful Bike? Will the agents of business espionage ride away with the stolen bicycle drive intelligence? Will the three friends get justice for Luke’s tragic death? Will Jung-Shan and Jed work out their cross-cultural love affair?

Continue reading “Book Review + Giveaway : Bridge Across the Ocean by Jack B. Rochester”

Interview · Uncategorized

INTERVIEW: Jack B. Rochester author of Bridge Across the Ocean

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner

About the Author:

Jack B. Rochester has worked in publishing for five decades. He was a business and technology journalist and author for 30 years, pounding out 500+ articles and 16 books, two of which were bestsellers: The Naked Computer and Pirates of the Digital Millennium, both co-authored with John Gantz. He is author of the Nathaniel Hawthorne Flowers literary trilogy. His most recent novel is Bridge Across the Ocean, a contemporary thriller, much of which is set in Taiwan. Rochester has a Master’s degree in Comparative Literature from California State University, Sonoma. He co-founded (with Caitlin M. Park) The Fictional Cafe, an online creative arts ‘zine, in 2013. His website is JackBoston.com. An avid recreational cyclist, he owns five bikes. He was raised in South Dakota and Wyoming, spent many years in California, and today lives with his wife in Lexington, Massachusetts. No moss grows beneath his feet.

Continue reading “INTERVIEW: Jack B. Rochester author of Bridge Across the Ocean”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Book Review: Shine (#1) by Jessica Jung

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner

71VSnalEHuL

Genre : Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult, Asian Literature

Date of Release: September 29th, 2020

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

“But fear can’t feed your dreams. It can only feed more fear.”

RATINGS :-
Plot : 3.5/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 3.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 3.5/5

A Korean American teen is thrust into the competitive, technicolor world of K-pop, from Jessica Jung, K-pop legend and former lead singer of Girls Generation.

 

What would you give for a chance to live your dreams?

For seventeen-year-old Korean American Rachel Kim, the answer is almost everything. Six years ago, she was recruited by DB Entertainment—one of Seoul’s largest K-pop labels, known for churning out some of the world’s most popular stars. The rules are simple: Train 24/7. Be perfect. Don’t date. Easy right?

 

Not so much. As the dark scandals of an industry bent on controlling and commodifying beautiful girls begin to bubble up, Rachel wonders if she’s strong enough to be a winner, or if she’ll end up crushed… Especially when she begins to develop feelings for K-pop star and DB golden boy Jason Lee. It’s not just that he’s charming, sexy, and ridiculously talented. He’s also the first person who really understands how badly she wants her star to rise.  Continue reading “Book Review: Shine (#1) by Jessica Jung”

Other Posts · Recommendations · Uncategorized · Wrap Ups!

Year End Wrap Up!! (IT’S THE END OF 2020 YA’LL)

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner

Hello everyone!✨ I hope you all are doing great and keeping safe!! This year has been not less than a roller coaster ride for all of us. Thus, it’s not a surprise that we cannot wait to say bye to this wretched year. Considering how terrible this year has been it is quite obvious that bookworms like us definitely found their solace in the books they read. Being a bookworm has surely helped many of us to cope up with this year therefore today, I will be sharing the books that made my 2020. They are a list of the best reads as well as the worst reads I read this year. Hope you enjoy! Do let me know if you have read any of these! 🌸

image

Continue reading “Year End Wrap Up!! (IT’S THE END OF 2020 YA’LL)”

Blog Tours · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

A a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut|Blog Tour: More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (8)

mail_chimp_banner_27

Today, I am delighted to host the Blog Tour organised by Hear Our Voices for More Than Just a Pretty Face.

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Continue reading “A a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut|Blog Tour: More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood”

Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

ARC REVIEW : Not Like the Movies (Waiting for Tom Hanks #2) by Kerry Winfrey

Salmon Leaves Blog Banner (1)

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Romance, Comedy, Contemporary

Date of Release: July 7, 2020

“Maybe you need to accept that your life is a rom-com, whether you want it to be or not.”

What happens when your life is a rom-com…but you don’t even believe in true love?

Chloe Sanderson is an optimist, and not because her life is easy. As the sole caregiver for her father, who has early onset Alzheimer’s, she’s pretty much responsible for everything. She has no time—or interest—in getting swept up in some dazzling romance. Not like her best friend Annie, who literally wrote a rom-com that’s about to premiere in theaters across America…and happens to be inspired by Chloe and Nick Velez, Chloe’s cute but no-nonsense boss.

As the buzz for the movie grows, Chloe reads one too many listicles about why Nick is the perfect man, and now she can’t see him as anything but Reason #2: The Scruffy-Bearded Hunk Who’s Always There When You Need Him. But unlike the romance Annie has written for them, Chloe isn’t so sure her own story will end in a Happily Ever After. 

Continue reading “ARC REVIEW : Not Like the Movies (Waiting for Tom Hanks #2) by Kerry Winfrey”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars #2) by Elizabeth Lim : ARC REVIEW

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4/5
Writing : 4.5/5
OVERALL RATING : 4.5/5

Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Date of Release: July 7, 2020

“I will stay by your side until the fire in the sun grows cold and the light of the moon is no more. Until time blots out the stars.”

The thrilling sequel to SPIN THE DAWN, a magical series steeped in Chinese culture.

Maia Tamarin’s journey to sew the dresses of the sun, the moon and the stars has taken a grievous toll. She returns to a kingdom on the brink of war. The boy she loves is gone, and she is forced to don the dress of the sun and assume the place of the emperor’s bride-to-be to keep the peace.

But the war raging around Maia is nothing compared to the battle within. Ever since she was touched by the demon Bandur, she has been changing . . . glancing in the mirror to see her own eyes glowing red, losing control of her magic, her body, her mind. It’s only a matter of time before Maia loses herself completely, but she will stop at nothing to find Edan, protect her family, and bring lasting peace to her country.

Continue reading “Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars #2) by Elizabeth Lim : ARC REVIEW”

All Reviews · Reviews · TANISHKA'S REVIEWS · Uncategorized

Skeins by Richa Gupta| Book Review

RATINGS :-
Plot : 4/5
Characters : 4.5/5
Writing : 4/5
OVERALL RATING :4.5 /5

Genre: Literary Fiction, Contemporary

“There are instances when the truth suddenly pitches at us with an undeniable impact. Our buried feelings come to the fore due to a trigger in our environment.”

What happens when the skeins of life of 16 diverse Indian women, aged 25 to 67, get entwined when they travel to Spain and Portugal in an all-women’s tour? With a galaxy of identifiable characters from modern urban India depicted with light-hearted mirth in a travel environment, the novel explores serious issues, such as the quest for an independent identity and economic independence, the violence within and without our homes, the loneliness of old age and the need for constructive channelization of youthful energy. Spanning events across a little more than a year, it depicts how self-expression and a supportive environment trigger a cataclysmic effect and stimulate the women to realize their dreams.

Continue reading “Skeins by Richa Gupta| Book Review”